

# Learning Technologies Committee

#### 1. Constitution

- 1.1 The Vice-Chancellor has established a Learning Technologies Committee (LTC) which reports to the IT Management Board (ITMB).
- 1.2 LTC will liaise with the Student Success Board, the Estates Management Board and the Capital Programmes Board when necessary to ensure they support each other and do not duplicate efforts.

## 2. Scope

- 2.1 LTC oversees the development and implementation of the University's strategic approach to the use of technology enhanced learning (TEL).
- 2.2 LTC promotes and supports innovation in the use of TEL and their economic, efficient and effective use to support student learning and experience.

## 3. Membership

3.1 The membership shall be as follows:

## Ex Officio

- Executive Director and Chief Information Officer (ILS) (Chair)
- PVC Education
- Head of Academic and Learning Enhancement (ILS)
- Associate Professor in HE Learning & Teaching (ILS)
- Head of Library Services (ILS)
- Head of Service Delivery (ILS)
- Head of Digital Strategy, Security & Compliance (ILS)
- Head of Infrastructure (ILS)
- Executive Director of Estates & Facilities
- Executive Director of Student & Academic Services

#### Other

- 2x Associate Deans (Student Success)
- GSU sabbatical officer nominated by the Students' Union

The Other Members of the Committee shall normally be appointed annually to the Committee by the Chair for one year. The Associate Deans (Student Success) will rotate annually among other holders of these positions.

#### 4. Attendance at meetings

4.1 At the discretion of the Chair, other staff who are not members of the Committee may be invited to attend on an ad hoc basis for specific items where their attendance can inform and support the Committee.

## 5. Delegated Authority

The Committee is authorised by the Vice Chancellor to approve the following:

- 5.1 Plans to improve TEL in the areas within the Committee's remit;
- 5.2 Regularly review key risks within the Committee's remit. Approve action plans to take advantage of opportunities and mitigate risk;
- 5.3 Good practice and procedures, ensuring adherence to legal and regulatory requirements and best practice.

## 6. Other Duties

The other duties of the Committee shall be to:

- 6.1 Oversee the planning and implementation of the TEL elements of the <u>Student</u> <u>Success</u> sub-strategy and <u>Digital</u> & <u>Estates</u> enabling strategies.
- 6.2 Regularly scan the HE sector and other organisations for trends, issues, best practice and innovation, which are worth considering for implementation.
- 6.3 Identify the opportunities from new and emerging TEL and recommend their implementation where appropriate. Liaise with the Student Success Board and the Capital Programmes Board as necessary;
- 6.4 Recommend business cases and projects to enhance TEL to ITMB in accordance with the Delegation Framework and assist ITMB in implementation as required;
- 6.5 Ensure that the University's teaching and learning spaces are fit for purpose and align with the Student Success sub-strategies and the Digital & Estates enabling strategies, combining the integration of learning technologies with overall space design. This will be led by pedagogic requirements;
- 6.6 Monitor and evaluate the student and staff use of TEL. Ensure that the data and metrics used to monitor implementation are as robust and reliable as possible;
- 6.7 Monitor TEL evidence emerging from student surveys, programme reviews, external examiners' reports and other feedback mechanisms;
- 6.8 Provide a forum for sharing good practice across the University to enhance students' learning experience through the use of TEL;

- 6.9 Review and develop policies related to the University's VLE and associated TEL tools. Ensure adherence to legal and regulatory requirements and best practice;
- 6.10 Ensure active consideration of equality, diversity, inclusion and sustainability in the conduct of the Committee's business

## 7. Standing Orders

7.1 The Committee must adhere to the <u>Standing Orders</u> for Academic and Executive Committees.

March 2023 Document owner: University Secretary